Friday, September 17, 2010

California Model School Library Standards Approved Unanimously!

Finally, after many decades, the California State Board of Education approved the Model School Library Standards for California Public Schools today (17 Sep 2010), unanimously! The Librarians Association of the University of California passed a resolution (pdf) supporting this effort, as did the California Federation of Teachers, and both deserve much thanks for their strong support.

Monday, September 13, 2010

Free In Second Life-IL Keynote Address: Saturday, 10/2

The following message has been cross-posted to a number of lists.

The 7th annual Georgia Conference on Information Literacy is scheduled for October 1st and 2d in Savannah, Georgia. For details about the RL (real life) conference:

Anyone interested is invited to attend (in Second Life) the keynote address I will be giving there, “Dream a Little Dream of US… United for Success!”

Date & Time: Saturday, October 2d, 5:30 am – 6:30 am SLT/PT (8:30 am – 9:30 am ET)
Keynote Abstract:

Please RSVP in order to receive the SLURL (Second Life URL):

Basic SL accounts are free, though you will need to download SL software in order to participate:

Caveat: Please be aware that SL connectivity can be problematic, so it is possible that we will not be able to connect after all, though we will certainly try.

Questions? Esther Grassian
IM Alexandria Knight in SL

Saturday, September 11, 2010

9/13/10 "Back to School Special: Making You & Your Library Indispensable"

From a tweet by gwynthjones...

Making You & Your Library Indispensable

Monday, September 13th, 8 pm (EST)--5 pm (PST)

"A casual discussion to generate ideas on how to build school allies, support new teachers, & become indispensable to admin & staff at the beginning of every school year.

Gwyneth Jones, Shannon Miller & Keisa Williams
Host: Gwyneth Jones"

Thursday, September 2, 2010